RSS Feed

Cooking always needed a heart

Posted on

It is said that ‘the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach’and most men ‘enjoy’ being at the receiving end of this equation while simultaneously harboring a secret guilt of the good type… the type that makes them proud about totally surrendering their heart while fully using their head.

So, let’s say a circumstance arose when the heart and stomach don’t quite complement each other. What happens then? Well… that’s when the man has to learn how to cook; this time hopefully without losing his head.

It’s been only a couple of months since Delia (my wife) and I moved to the US. Delia is a great cook it’s just that her job now has her travelling a lot.  I love eating – it’s been so for the past 37 years of my existence – but being born, bred and fed in Mumbai, I’ve never had to seriously cook and after moving here it’s a new challenge thrown at me.  So with apron, gloves, knives et al I’m on a culinary treasure hunt with no clue.

But nothing is impossible (I say this as I ignore my laughing alter ego). In my defence, in the last few weeks I may have successfully been able to stir up some treats even as I laboured trying to tell the difference between Cilantro and Parsley. As my repertoire expands I’ll share my experiences here, entertain, maybe even inspire and in the bargain thoroughly impress my wife.

So, stomaching the challenge ahead I take heart as I set out on this journey.

Please feel free to post comments and recommendations too. I’m sure I could use all the help I can get.

12 responses »

  1. I would love to see some photos of the process or the end product. 😉

    Reply
  2. I am a huge fan of the allrecipes.com site. It’s got so many great and easy recipes, plus reading the comments helps a lot… I love it! Here is one I recently found that did well in my house, a stirfry with chicken and avocado! http://allrecipes.com/recipe/avocado-chicken-stir-fry/detail.aspx

    Reply
  3. I like the breezy style and play on words!

    Reply
  4. Clyne Valladares

    Deric, One bhaji roll please (with extra cheese) !!!!

    Check out http://www.vahrehvah.com/

    Reply
  5. Hi Deric,
    This looks like a learning curve for you in this stage of your life!!! Yes, we are always yearning and learning!! Our quest to know never ceases!!
    I am thrilled that you are actually taken this upon yourself to learn the art of cooking!!
    I’d say start with the basics….how to hold a knife without chopping off your finger tips! But a few mistakes always helps as you learn from them and never make them again!
    Start by what excites you…..Indian food ….okay..then being an Indian you know how a curry should look and tastes and smell….so following a recipe….the main ingredients in Indian curries are:- Onion, Garlic, Ginger, Turmeric, coriander powder ( or cilantro they call it here) Cumin powder or seeds, garam masala, and if you have some of the bottle masala from Bombay then use that too….add all these in the sauted onion, garlic & ginger to make a masala form….then add meat ( beef or chicken) and then add coconut milk….add some water and simmer until the oil comes up….add cilantro leaves and lime or lemon juice and your dinner is ready for your beautiful Indian wife!!!
    Cheers and happy cooking!!!
    Andrea

    Reply
  6. Good one Deric…by the time you are back, you will be ready for Masterchef challenge. But it is great that you are making an attempt to learn. Don’t worry about Parsley and Cilantro – till date even Altaj could not figure that one out and I know many friends there who make that mistake in grocery shopping every week.

    Good luck and happy cooking !

    Reshma

    Reply
  7. Go Deric Go! I’ve enjoyed reading about your culinary adventures thus far!

    Reply
  8. Thanks for stopping by my blog. You’ve got a great start on yours – your presentation is beautiful. I can’t wait till I have white plates to make mine a little more snazzy. 🙂 Good luck on your new food adventure and congratulations on your recent move to the US. I hope you enjoy it here.

    Reply
  9. Ha ha ha …more than the chef im enjoying the suppressed copy writer get his platform ! Way to go buddy …

    Look forward to more fun writing and gastronomical delights ;D

    Cheers !
    Payal

    Reply

Leave a Reply

