RSS Feed

Fishy and Fiery

Posted on

Just yesterday I was in the mood for some fish and I thought it would be a good idea to try out a Baked Indian Spiced Salmon. I was all too excited while preparing the marinade; one, because the aroma got the gastronomic juices going; two, it was easy and quick to prepare. I also suspect that in the long run I may prefer baking over frying primarily for the intervals you get in the cooking process; time that could be used for other things or to simply catch up on some reading.

Getting back to the salmon, with the marinade prepared and ready to fire up the fillet, taking a deep breath I felt a sense of achievement. But it was not without doubt that this concoction might’ve gotten a bit too hot. I chose not to taste it as I assumed that doing anything to temper the spice could ruin it all together and the salmon was already rolling in the deep with the seasoning (I was quick to dunk it in there).

And fiery it was, but to my good fortune it turned out just how I liked it and went down perfectly with a side serving of Cumin steamed rice.

Both dishes were very easy to prepare and it was all done in under an hour (marinating time aside)

Follow my notes below if you’d like to try it yourself.

To begin get some salmon slices – at least 6 large slices

Marinade ingredients:

Red chilli powder – 2 tbsp (This can be reduced based out how hot you’d like it)
Turmeric powder – ½ tsp
Cumin powder-1 tsp
Coriander powder – 1 tsp
Finely chopped garlic- 4 pods
Salt – ½ tbsp
Lime juice – 1 ½ tbsp
Olive oil – 1 ½ tbsp
Oregano seasoning – ½ tsp

Mix all the ingredients for the marinade along with the oil in a large bowl till it forms into a paste. Add the fish to it and refrigerate for about 2-3 hours.

Line up the baking tray and grease it with 1 tsp of olive oil.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Place the fish slices in the baking tray and after 15 minutes turn the side over for another 15 minutes.

That’s about it.

Preparing the marinade

Marinating the salmon

Ready for baking

16 responses »

  1. That looks really tasty Deric! Nice job on your first dish.

    Reply
  2. Sounds good! Did you slice the fish in half and stuff it with the marinade? I couldn’t tell from the picture…

    Reply
    • Hey Kim

      It was the middle slice of the fish pre-cut from the market. The marinade was applied to the surface and allowed to sit for abt 3 hrs in the refrigerator.

      Reply
  3. Looks awesome, Deric!!! I can’t wait to see the next dish! Sam and I are gonna go dumpster diving and bring you stuff to whip dinner up!!! how does that sound?

    Reply
  4. I survived the fishy fire drill!! :):) Just kidding – it tasted great. Encore, I say! Cheers.

    Reply
  5. Holy Molly! I looks like something I would want to eat and pay for!!!!!

    Reply
  6. I give you credit for making rice as well! I am NOT a cook 🙂 So I have a lot of respect for those who venture out an make an entire meal! For me, 2 ingredients is already too much! hahaha Am waiting to see what your next dish will be!

    Reply
  7. Lovely Deric…looks yummie….I am ready to try this one out..quite easy and will be loved by Amaan. He simply loves fish in any form. Will surely let you know the outcome.

    Reply
  8. Deric, I really enjoyed your blog. I thought it was very well written. Your marinade seems influenced by the Kerala traditions of cooking fish. Are you from the south? Try cooking it in the southern European fashion. It may be better to taste.

    Reply
    • Thanks Debashish. My roots are Goan, but I’ve not got down to preparing anything authentially Goan. About the Southern European style that you mentioned, do you know of any good resources to follow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

