RSS Feed

Keeping it light

Posted on

With two fiery delights down, I thought of taking a break this morning and lazily putting together some light sandwiches for today. But having made the resolution to cook as often as possible I felt guilty about not doing so. So to neutralise the guilt rolled up my sleeves and entered the kitchen.

I had kept some kidney beans to soak overnight as my original plan was to make something out of it. While boiling them the plan changed and I got down to trying a salad. This would also be the first time I got down to dressing up some chicken in greens.

I just wished I had checked on my Canon DSLR battery pack before beginning. I had to use the point and shoot instead. I also realised that had I diced the chicken it could’ve made for easier consumption.

Here’s what I put together.

1/4 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon bottled minced garlic

1 teaspoon olive oil

½ teaspoon salt

1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast

¼ teaspoon black pepper

¼ teaspoon basil leaves

¼ teaspoon parsley leaves

1 ½ cups chopped red onion

1 ¼ cups (1-inch) piece yellow bell pepper

½ cup (2 ounces) crumbled cottage cheese

Baby spinach

Directions:

Combine the first 7 ingredients from the list. This is the salad dressing that you will
use at the end.

In a large non-stick skillet heat a teaspoon of Olive oil.

Cut the chicken into ½ inch slices and sprinkle with black pepper, basil and parsley and let it sit for about ½ hour.

Cook the chicken in the pan for about 4-5 minutes on both sides. Add the onions and cook
till chicken is done and the onion gets tender. Stir frequently.

In a large bowl combine the chicken, bell pepper, cheese, kidney beans and spinach
and drizzle the dressing over the entire arrangement.

Light and easy…

7 responses »

  1. Another delicious recipe. It sounds like you are eating well!

    Reply
  2. That looks so so good! Plus it’s also pretty close to gluten and dairy free, minus the cottage cheese so I could totally do that. YUM!

    Reply
  3. Agreed, that looks amazing. I’m also totally impressed with your kidney bean soaking.

    Reply
  4. I’m glad you’re learning to cook!!!
    Hopefully you can spoil your wife the next time she is in town.

    Reply
  5. This looks delicious!!! Can you please bring left overs o me tomorow? Thank you!

    Reply
  6. Yum, love all the vegetables! And I like that good food doesn’t have to be complicated or fussy — the best things just let the ingredients speak for themselves.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

